Why Your Word Means More Than You Think

When keeping and honoring my word comes to mind, I often say I keep my word. If my friend asks me to be somewhere I am there. If my boss asks me to complete something, I complete it. However, when looking closer with some coaching from my mentor (I have a mentor!), Chris, I see very clearly that I don’t keep or honor my word as I want to.
Honoring your word, as I’ve learned, is much much deeper than being at a certain place at a certain time. It means honoring the words or commitment you’ve made to yourself or to someone else, regardless of what it is and keeping the integrity of the commitment. If I say I’m going to complete something for Santosh, then I do it when I say I’m going to do it, which currently I don’t. I say to myself that I’m going to get up and work out in the morning or meditate before I leave for work. What happens? I oversleep and run around to get out the door. 

When keeping track of the many things I’ve agreed to/commit to/said I was going to do… There were many things I didn’t follow through on or they were late. Which was very eye opening. I want to know as an outward accountability to myself and others that I honor my word. I value my commitments to others and I need to value my commitments to myself even more.

If I say I’m going to lookup something for my mother, sister, friend, etc., then I’m going to honor it and do it. If I say I’m going to go to bed early to read, get up and workout before work or meditate, I’m going to do it. 

Moving forward I’m trying to keep track of what I say I’m going to do through keeping a journal and also setting reminders on my phone to ensure I honor and keep.. No more importantly be my word. 

Are there things you give your word to but don’t complete? How have you become more aware to alter your habits in keeping and honoring your word? 

Leave a Reply

