Nutritional Check In & New Goals

About a year ago I decided to hire a nutritionist. My reasons were two fold:

  1. I wanted to learn more about nutrition and how it factors into overall health and weight loss (fitness is 80% nutrition and 20% exercise) 
  2. I wanted to lose more weight and tone up. 

I went on the Internet and searched for a while and found Jaime. Reading the reviews of her clients sold me immediately. Her site can be found here Nutrition CPR

When I started working with Jaime, I eas training for my first half marathon last October (the Philly Rock & Roll 1/2). She helped me to fuel for each run and workout without feeling like I wasn’t being deprived or starved. 

Since I’ve been working with Jaime, I’ve lost weight, toned up and also gained a considerable amount of knowledge about carbohydrates, sugar, protein and gluten. Gluten is a particularly sensitive issue for me since my sister and father both have Celiac disease (as well as multiple cousins and extended family). I have cut out all the majority of gluten (pasta, bread, dressings, sauces, etc.) with the support of Santosh who had also been on board. It’s been a process but I have to say I have seen the benefits of it for both of us. More importantly, I feel a LOT better. 

With my 30th birthday approaching, I reached out to Jaime ( I try to talk to her once a month) to tone up more. Our conversation gave me the following goals for the next 6 weeks: 

  1. Limited sugar. Read the ingredient list and if it’s one of the first 5 ingredients it’s a no go. Which also means: 
  • No additional sugars in syrups, sauces, drinks, etc. 
  • Limited to NO alcohol
  • Eat lots of protein (it makes you fuller faster before eating carbs)
  • Watching the carbohydrates: limited potatoes, limited rice, etc. Read labels to see the carbohydrate and sugar content. 

Cook at home as much as possible and.. Drink lots of water. 

So I have my work cut out for me and I’ll be checking in with Jaime and also writing down my process here. I’m also going to be on MyFitnessPal so I can see my meal intake each day. Seeing the numbers in front of you helps.

Do you have nutritional goals? What are they? I’d love to hear them! 

      Leave a Reply

      