Sundays will be for Meal Prep

Sundays are convenient for cooking as you can take your time. In line with my goal for January, my boyfriend and I went to the grocery store so I could meal prep and cook.  He did the laundry while I was in the kitchen.

Why Meal Prep?

  1. It saves me time when I’m running around in the morning trying to put together my lunch.
  2. It saves me money by avoiding having to buy me lunch if I don’t have time to put together said lunch (has happened a LOT in the past).
  3. It allows me to know everything in my food, because I made it.
  4. It helps to keep me accountable for my nutritional goals.

These are the results of my efforts:

IMG_0853

I have really come to love baking fish in the oven. It keeps the moisture of the fish and it less tedious than in the pan.

Dinner tonight was baked tilapia with lentils, brown rice and roasted carrots. I seasoned the tilapia with turmeric, cumin, salt, pepper and a little olive oil. I made two extra for us to take this week for lunch. It came out delicious!

IMG_0856

Still in the crockpot is a breakfast casserole for us to both take this week consisting of eggs, hash browns (frozen shredded potatoes) and black bean scramble for additional flavor.

Needless to say, I’m quite pleased with my progress today.

Leave a Reply

